2017/18 Yearbook

Chapter 1 – Governance of Sport

Rod Findlay –  Director of Strategy & Governance at England Golf     

Professor Jack Anderson – Director of Studies, Professor of Sports Law, Melbourne Law School

Neil Partington – University of Sussex

Sean Cottrell – CEO at LawInSport

Kevin Carpenter – Principal at Captivate Legal & Sports Solutions

Simon Pentol – Barrister at 25 Bedford Row


Chapter 2 – Sport, Competition & EU Law

Angelique Bret – Partner at Pinsent Masons

Benoît Keane – Founding Partner of Keane Legal

Hazar El-Chamaa – Partner at Penningtons Manches

Tom Barnard – Senior Associate, Irwin Mitchell

Ghilas Lounis – Associate, Decimus Fearon LLP


Chapter 3 – Sport, Commercial & IP Law

Jon Walters – Founding Partner, Northridge

Paul Shapiro – Managing Associate, Northridge

Warren Phelops – Global Head of Sports, Media and Entertainment, K&L Gates

Andrew Gilchrist – Senior Associate, K&L Gates

Rhys Linnell – Associate, Saffery Champness LLP

Sean Corbett – Founder, Pit Stop Brand Consultancy


Chapter 4 – Sport & Employment Law

Andrew Smith – Barrister at Matrix Chambers

Phillip Bonner – Associate, Centrefield LLP

James Hill – Associate, Onside Law

Nicola Parkinson – Senior Associate, Walker Morris


Chapter 5 – Sport, Equality & Discrimination

Lydia Banerjee – Barrister, Littleton Chambers

Richard Yates – Associate, JMW Solicitors LLP and Joint Vice-Chair of UKA Athletes’ Commission

Graham Gilbert – Barrister, 3PB

Matthew Kaiser – Associate, Global Sports Advocates


Chapter 6 – Sport & Media Rights

Andrew Ryan – Head of Media Legal and Business Affairs with the International Olympic Committee

Dylan Kerrigan – Associate at Dentons

Nick Fitzpatrick – Global Co-chair of DLA Piper's Media Sport and Entertainment

Alasdair Muller – Associate at DLA Piper

Alex Slade – Head of Legal, Sport at BT

Chapter 7 – Sport Integrity - Betting & Financial Corruption

Adam Brickell – Partner at Regulus Partners

Michael Savva – Senior Associate, Watson Farley & Williams

Nick De Marco QC – Barrister, Blackstone Chambers

Louise Millington Roberts – Consultant, Hill Dickinson

Louis Weston – Barrister and Head of Sports Law Group, 3PB

Gemma White – Barrister at 3PB

Jamie Singer – Founding Partner, Onside Law

Ross Brown – Senior Associate, Onside Law


Chapter 8 –  Anti-Doping

Rupert J A Beloff – Barrister, 4-5 Gray’s Inn Square & Kings Chambers

Philip Hutchinson – Associate, Mills & Reeve LLP

Paul Greene – Founder, Global Sports Advocates

Tomislav Kasalo – Founder, Kasalo & Raic Ltd

Zane Shihab – Partner, Kerman & Co

James Thorndyke – Senior Associate, Kerman & Co

Markus Manninen – Specialist Partner, Hannes Snellman Attorneys Ltd

Andrew Smith – Barrister at Matrix Chambers


Chapter 9 – Sports Disciplinary Procedures
Mark Hovell – Partner, Mills & Reeve LLP

Tiran Gunawardena – Associate, Mills & Reeve LLP

John Mehrzad – Barrister and Head of Sports Law Group, Littleton Chambers

Graham Gilbert – Barrister, 3PB

Lloyd Thomas – Senior Associate, Squire Patton Boggs


Chapter 10 ­– Participation & Safety in Sport

Professor Mark James - Manchester Law School

Chris Hurlston – Associate, Irwin Mitchell

Neerali Madhvani – Associate, Irwin Mitchell

John Shea – Associate at Shoosmiths

Nina Goolamali QC – Barrister & Head of Sport, 2 Temple Gardens



2016/17 Yearbook


Chapter 1 - Governance

Rod Findlay, England Golf
Erin Stephens, Sport England
Michael Lister, Harbottle & Lewis
Michael Finch, Harbottle & Lewis
Kevin Carpenter, Captivate Legal & Sports Solutions

Chapter 2 – EU/Competition

Angelique Bret, Pinsent Masons
Benoit Keane, Keane Legal
Despina Mavromati, Court of Arbitration for Sport
Alex Haffner, Dentons

Chapter 3 – Commercial/IP

Jon Walters, Charles Russell Speechlys
Sean Corbett, Formula One Management Ltd
Alex Kelham, Lewis Silkin
Pete Hackleton, Saffery Champness
Nick De Marco, Blackstone Chamber
Chris Walsh, Onside Law

Chapter 4 - Employment

Andrew Smith, Matrix Chambers
John Shea, Shoosmiths
Phil Hutchinson, Mills & Reeve
Daniel Lowen, Couchmans

Chapter 5 – Discrimination and Equality

Lydia Banerjee, Littleton Chambers
Charles Fursdon, Farrer
Robert Lewis, Farrer
David Hunt, Farrer
Liz Riley, Bird & Bird

Chapter 6 – Media Rights

Andrew Ryan, International Olympic Committee (IOC)
Warren Phelops, K&L Gates
Dylan Kerrigan, Dentons
Nick Fitzpatrick, DLA Piper
Alasdair Muller, DLA Piper
Alex Slade, BT Sport
Stephen Ridgway, Sky Sports

Chapter 7 – Financial Corruption

Adam Brickell, Regulus Partners
Leigh Thompson, Sport and Recreation Alliance
Chris Davies, Burges Salmon
Jack Mitchell - Old Square Chambers
Keith Oliver, Peters & Peters Solicitors LLP
Craig Hogg, Peters & Peters Solicitors LLP
Gareth Farrelly, Peters & Peters Solicitors LLP
Kimberly Morris, FIFA TMS
Barry Lysaght, FIFA TMS

Chapter 8 – Anti-Doping

Kendrah Potts, Mishcon de Reya
Edward Carder, Mishcon de Reya
Euan McMahon, Mishcon de Reya
Rupert Beloff, No5 Chambers
Natalie St. Cyr Clarke, LIBRA LAW Ibarrola & Ramoni Avocats

Chapter 9 – Disciplinary Procedures

Nick De Marco, Blackstone Chambers
Gemma White, 3PB Barristers' Chambers
Mark Hovell, Mills & Reeve
Jake Cohen, Mills & Reeve

Chapter 10 – Sport and Safety

Mark James, Manchester Metropolitan University
Nina Goolamali, 2 Temple Gardens
Jack Anderson, Queen's University Belfast
Jon Heshka, Thompson Rivers University
Anthony Indaimo, Withers LLP
Jacopo Pistone, Withers LLP
Richard Spafford, Reed Smith
Carolyn Pepper, Reed Smith
Casey Ryan, Reed Smith

2015/16 Yearbook



Print   Email